By Iyona Hagler, News Writer

On Sunday January 22 Keenan held a scholarship pageant. The judges crowned a Miss Sophomore, Miss Junior, Mr. Keenan and Miss Keenan.

“I feel good and proud I can lead my class in a positive way,” Junior Alexxis Mitchell, Miss. Junior, said.

The pageant was organized into four categories for underclassmen: formal wear, business, questions and casual. Seniors had five categories which also included formal wear, business, questions, casual but also talent.

“My favorite category was formal because I feel in love with the dress,” Senior Keyona Peters, Miss Keenan, said.

All contestants had to raise money for the pageant.

“I raised about $250 and spent about $1,000 plus,” Senior Roderica Sturrup, Miss Keenan first runner up, said.

The program donates scholarship money to the senior winners. Peters and John Richmond, Mr. Keenan 2017, both won the senior scholarship money.

“I’m grateful I won the scholarship money to further my education at Claflin University,” Peters said.

