By Iyona Hagler, News Writer

On Tuesday November 8, 2016, Donald Trump, American businessman, was elected the 45th President of the United States. According to presidentalpolls2016.com, Trump had 46% vs Clinton 44% of the general election vote preference. Many citizens were left with mixed emotions after hearing the outcome. Many at Keenan were devastated with the results as well.

“I had no choice but to vote for Clinton because I’m a Democrat,” Coach Dameon Franklin, athletic director, said.

Because he’s in the military, his life would be affected and he feels as if Trump will send him to war.

Others like Mr. Jay Watkins, art teacher, didn’t settle for Clinton or Trump.

“I didn’t vote because my man [Bernie Sanders] wasn’t on the presidential race poll,” he said.

Mr. Garrick Rivers, band director, wasn’t happy with the outcome either; after one question, he refused to answer anymore.

“[I] Think everything happens for a reason,” Coach James Johnson, campus monitor, said.

Johnson and Dr. Curtrell Rhodan, science teacher, aren’t too happy with the results but are trying to think positively.

“I voted for Clinton because I’m a Democrat; I don’t like the result, but I will accept it. Trump was fair; [there was] no wrong doing,” Johnson said.

The inauguration of Trump as the 45th President of the United States will be held on Friday, January 20 on the West Front of the United States Capitol Building in Washington, D.C. The inauguration will mark the commencement of the four-year term of Trump as President and of Mike Pence as Vice President.

“I think someone should have experience to be a president, and Trump will affect my life economically, but I control my own destiny; however, we should change the way we vote,” Rhodan said.

