By Breayanna Gibson, News Writer

As the Lady Raiders softball team came to their final game on April 26, they finished their season outstandingly, and the senior pitcher made history for Keenan softball.

Coach Clarence Black, Softball Coach, talked about coaching softball.

“I like coaching softball,” Black said. “It’s frustrating at times, but I like coaching it.”

This year’s softball team made playoffs for the first time in years and ended on a good note.

“I believe this year’s softball team is a lot better than the previous year’s, but I do believe it could’ve been better,” Black said

As the Lady Raiders come to their final moments with their senior pitcher, she will be missed.

“I’m heartbroken and sad; this is my last year playing high school softball,” Senior Day-Sha Stewart, Pitcher, said. “I’m really going to miss it.”

As Stewart finishes her final years playing softball in high school, she will be excited about college softball and will be playing for South Carolina State University (SCSU).

“I love softball with a passion,” she said

Her teammates will miss her dearly, and the coaches are happy as well. They wish the best to her in college.

“I’m going to miss Day-Sha a lot,” Sophomore A’Laysia Hill, centerfielder, said. “I appreciate all that she has taught me.”

Black will be expecting another great season with his rising seniors and maybe another playoff.

“I’m expecting that every girl that stuck to the program will have more knowledge and love for the game,” Black said. “And I’m also expecting for the returning girls to work hard over the summer to improve their game.”

download_20160517_090750
The Lady Raiders softball team. Photo by Coach Clarence Black, Special to the Sword and Shield.
