By Quintrell Wright, Sports Writer

Keenan made history last season by defeating Pelion High School for the region title and trophy. Over half of last season’s team advanced to the Upper State Championship.

“It really was a great season to remember,” Coach Charles Proctor, head coach, said. “I’ve never seen a team full of talented athletes.”

Senior Quintrell Wright, who is number five in the region, looks forward to this season as he vows to reach the number one spot in the region and lead his 4×8 relay team to the State Championship.

“After my relay team and I came in fifth place at Upper State last season, it was a rough, heartbreaking feeling,” Wright said. “When you work hard all season and come in fifth place at a big event, the feeling sucks.”

Keenan’s track team is thirsty for rings this season. As their confidence grows larger and stronger, their chances of becoming state champions will increase.

“I believe the team has the chemistry, talent and heart to make it to the championship and beyond,” Coach Chris Greene, assistant coach, said.

Keenan had not won a Track & field region trophy since 1986; all of that changed on May 2, 2015.

“It was my first year running and I didn’t really take it serious until I got used to it and started to love track” Darius Burgess, former student and track runner for Keenan, said. “When my boys and I won the region trophy I couldn’t even describe the feeling, all I know was that it felt great.”

With only eight seniors who graduated last year, the Keenan track team is still strong with returning veterans and new rookies.

“Even though this will be my first time running, I will give it my all to impress my coaches and my peers,” Christopher Reed, Freshman runner, said.

This season all fans and spectators should keep their eyes on the seniors as they look to make a great impact on and for the team.

LH9A3174
Darius Burgess, former student and track runner for Keenan, runs in the 4x800m relay race at the Upper State Championship in 2015. Photo courtesy of Lifetouch photography.

 

LH9A3191
Current senior Quintrell Wright, track runner, runs in the 4x800m relay race at the Upper State Championship in 2015. Photo courtesy of Lifetouch photography.

 

