By Kyandra Simmons, News Writer

The Keenan Scholarship Pageant was held on January 10. The pageant was hosted by Mrs. Stephanie Jenkins, Junior class sponsor and dance teacher, and set up by Mrs. Archias Forbes, Chorus teacher, and many workers and students. The qualifications to participate in the pageant were a 2.0 GPA, $200 in funds raised and no infractions. The theme of this year’s pageant was the Wizard of Oz.

Judges for this year’s pageant were Ms. Carmen Jordan; Ms. Tiera Smith and Mr. Jabar Hankins, Keenan alumni; Mr. Arnold Andrade, Mr. Benedict; and Miss Markela Tarrance, Miss Benedict. The scholarship was worth $750.00.

“I believe…the pageant was beautiful; the contestants did a wonderful job,” Jenkins said. “If I could change one thing, it would be the number of participants in the pageant. I would love to have seen at least 15 contestants in the pageant.”

Freshman Malaysia Johnson, first time contestant, won Miss Freshman.

“I enjoyed running in the pageant because it was something new for me,” Johnson said. “I would definitely run again because winning is a great feeling.”

Junior John Richmond was the only male in the entire pageant.

“I was nervous at first about what my peers would say, but I stopped thinking and did what I had to do; I felt like the man!” Richmond said.

And the 2015-2016 Miss Keenan is Senior Amber Stone.

“It is a dream come true and a goal reached,” Stone said. “I’ve been preparing for this since sophomore year, and I am truly delighted to be Miss Keenan.”

Stone has competed in Keenan’s scholarship pageant for three total years straight.

“I have learned that confidence is the key and that you are your only competition, not anyone else,” Stone said. “Yes, it was fun, and I would do it over and over again.”

Stone was more than excited to receive the scholarship money and already has plans to put it aside for college books.

IMG_3672
Pageant winners are crowned at the end of the show.  Photo by Mrs. Elizabeth Glaser, Special to the Sword and Shield.
