The writer with her father and sisters. Left to right: Jaymar Simmons, Blair Simmons, Kyandra Simmons and Keirra Simmons. Photo by Sheila Webb, Special to the Sword and Shield.
The writer with her father and sisters. Left to right: Jaymar Simmons, Blair Simmons, Kyandra Simmons and Keirra Simmons. Photo by Sheila Webb, Special to the Sword and Shield.

By Kyandra Simmons, News Writer 

Father’s Day is the third Sunday in June, a day on which fathers are particularly honored by their children, especially with gifts, love and greeting cards. It’s a beautiful festival that acknowledges and appreciates the important role played by a father in raising a child.

“I love my father; he’s the love of my life. I wouldn’t trade him in for anything,” Mrs. Rona Stuart, history teacher, said.

Some people with different cultures have special traditions they follow each year. A tradition is a long-established custom or belief that has been passed on generation to generation.

“Every year I treat my father out on a mini date, just me and him,” Sophomore Rodrick Sterns said.

Father’s Day is a time to celebrate real fathers, men who love and provide for their families.

“We have cookouts and give gifts to all the fathers in our family,” Stuart said.

Lots of people give praise and appreciation to their fathers on Father’s Day.

“I appreciate my dad and how he has always been there for me; I also appreciate all the sacrifices he made for me,” Stuart said.

Most families go to church as a tradition; afterwards they eat and open gifts.

“I always get my dad a gift card from Lowe’s; he can spend all day in there,” Junior Kenya Bell said.

Not only fathers are recognized but also father figures like grandparents, uncles or someone who has raised the child and is considered to be a father to that child.

In 2015, Father’s Day will be held on Sunday, June 21.

