By Kamya Gibbons, News Writer

The dance showcase takes place every year. This showcase consists of students’ own choreography. Students had the opportunity to either do a solo and/or dance with a partner.

Students must have a theme to represent their dance

“My theme will be on self-control,” Senior Shonteonna Harris said.

This showcase gives each student the opportunity to show her own choreography. This is the last event Dance will have for this school year.

“My students are working hard to be in this showcase, and that’s what it takes because only the best will perform,” Mrs. Stephanie Jenkins, Dance Instructor, said. “The dances must be three minutes or longer.”

Students were given time in their classes to get their dances done and also make a packet on what their dances will be on, including poems, pictures and/or stories. If there are two people, then they both have to be dancing. One cannot be just standing around.

“I believe we are ready for this big showcase; we’ve worked so hard for it, and I know this will be the biggest showcase yet,” Jenkins said.

The uniforms for this showcase have to fit the description of their theme of the students’ choreography.

“I cannot wait for this showcase; hopefully my dance will be even better than the one I have done last year. I can’t wait to see the difference,” Senior Quadeidra Jackson said.

Everybody is ecstatic for this showcase, and it is approaching very fast on April 21, 2015.

