Ms. Elizabeth Glaser, social studies teacher, loves to teach history. Glaser is one of the new faces around Keenan for 2014-2015.
Ms. Elizabeth Glaser, social studies teacher, loves to teach history. Glaser is one of the new faces around Keenan for 2014-2015.

Story and photo by Kyandra Simmons, News Writer

Ms. Elizabeth Glaser, who has been teaching for nine years now and attended the University of Kentucky, is one of many new faces around Keenan.

“I grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio; I’ve always wanted to teach,” Glaser said. “That’s just something I knew I was going to do.”

Glaser taught at Allendale Fairfax High School in Fairfax, South Carolina. She is married to Mr. Venkateshwarlu Yagatilee, who teaches math at Allendale Fairfax. Glaser also taught at St. Gabriel The Archangel School in Louisville, Kentucky, her hometown.

“I like Keenan the best because it is a high school which is large and is on block scheduling,” Glaser said. “I was previously teaching seventh and eighth grade at St. Gabriel The Archangel, and I just missed high school students.”

St. Gabriel is a Catholic middle school.

“At my last school in Fairfax, we had about seven to eight blocks, and it was so hard for me to keep up because I had seven classes and only one planning period, but here you have A and B day, four blocks a day, so it’s much easier for me to keep up,”  Glaser said.

Keenan has many opportunities that are not given to students at other schools.

“When I first met Glaser I felt like she was the perfect teacher for the job; she seemed as if she had a love for history, and she was excited to start,” Mrs. Rona Stuart, social studies teacher, said.

Glaser has more than one degree: a B.Ed. (Bachelor’s Degree in education) and an M.Ed. (Master’s Degree in education). She enjoys teaching at Keenan and says she has lots of fun doing it and meeting new students.

Glaser is a calm and relaxing person; she’s intelligent and loves the History Channel.

“I don’t have any pets but I’m in love with plants,” Glaser said.

Glaser teaches United States History, mainly to juniors.

“My love for history came from my father, who was always taking my family to historical sites when I was younger,” Glaser said.

There aren’t as many of historical sites in Columbia as in Kentucky, but there are some in South Carolina.

“I love Ms. Glaser; she’s a fun teacher, and the way she teaches excites me,” Junior Daquan Middleton said.

She is a caring teacher and her love for history is unreal.

