Can't be serious all the time. Girls golf lets loose as they begin the championship. They let everyone know what they were about. Photo provided by Coach Clint Davis.
Can’t be serious all the time. Girls golf lets loose as they begin the championship. They let everyone know what they were about. Photo provided by Coach Clint Davis.

By Jordyn Reynolds, Sports Writer

On October 20 and 21 the girls golf team ended its season at Myrtle Beach for the championship. They came in 12th place out of 17 teams.

“We played our hardest: we were on top of the charts,” Junior Jada Jackson said.

That wasn’t the only great game they played.

“Chapin was the best game we played because the coach sent a letter saying how pleasant we were, and the girls we went up against were very nice,” Junior Nahla Muldrow said.

The fans were also impressed with the team’s outcome this season.

“They have great perseverance. Even after a bad shot they always came back,” Junior Diamonita Tyler said.

Juniors Jalona Webb and Nahla Muldrow and Sophomore Relinda Starks practice their swings.
Juniors Jalona Webb and Nahla Muldrow and Sophomore Relinda Starks practice their swings.

At Myrtle Beach, Keenan was the only African American team to compete.

“Despite our race, many goals were achieved,” Junior Jalona Webb said.

The team’s progression really impressed their coach.

“The team is up and coming, much progression, and their behavior was great,” Head Coach Clint Davis said.

Sophomore Relinda Starks shared her personal experience this season.

“When I first started to golf I felt as if I wasn’t going to catch on, and it was going to be real boring,” Starks said, “As time passed I kept my head in the game and focused on what I had to do. Going to Myrtle Beach was a way of showing off my hard work. This was my first time going to state as a golfer; I was very nervous at first. Despite my nerves, I told myself ‘go out there, try your best, and succeed.’ By keeping calm I played my best ever. I proved that anything is possible when you just believe in yourself.”

