By Diamond Jones, News Writer

Senior Samanuel Martin has been named a Gates Millennium Scholar. This scholarship provides awards that will be based on the cost of tuition, fees, books and living expenses for the 2014-2015 academic year, as well as the availability of grants and other scholarships reported on the financial aid award letter according to the Gates Millennium website.

Martin describes how elated he was to receive this scholarship and what school he plans to attend.

“I was very happy and excited; my soul leaped with joy as I ripped open the envelope and learned I was a Gates Millennium Scholar,” Martin said.

Martin, who plans on attending North Carolina State University, elaborated on the process of becoming a scholar.

“I had to write eight essays that range from leadership, community service and goals. The application process…consists of so much. Once I submitted all of my information and found out I was a finalist, I had to submit more information…then I waited again until April 14 to be informed that I was a Gates Millennium Scholar,” Martin said.

Martin talked about how many teachers encouraged him and how he also had self-encouragement.

Mrs. Jessica Miller, English teacher, expressed how overjoyed she is about Martin’s accomplishment and how she assisted him.

“He started working on [the essays] early, and I provided guidance in the areas’ of purpose/audience, emotional appeal and impact,” Miller said.

Mrs. Kirstin Bullington, science teacher, who once taught Martin, describes how she feels about his achievement.

“He’s an amazing young man. I taught and tried to challenge him to do his best,” Bullington said.

Miller as well Bullington only had words of encouragement for Martin.

“Use your power for good, not evil,” Miller said.

