By Jocelyn Grace, Features Reporter

Mrs. Lucia Jacobs is the new chemistry and physics teacher at Keenan.  She attended high school in Sumter, S.C., and went to South Carolina State University for college. She also attended University of South Carolina to receive her master’s degree.  Jacobs had one career goal in mind while pursuing an education.

“I was always destined to become a teacher. I come from a long line of teachers, and I guess it was karma that I become one,” Jacobs said.

Jacobs has had seventeen years of educating experience, part of which she spent at her previous school, A.C Flora High School. Jacobs said she came to Keenan for no specific reason but she loves it here.

“I love everything at Keenan, especially the camaraderie amongst the staff members,” Jacobs said.

“My goals for the rest of the school year are to teach and expose my students to different science concepts via in-class experiences and activities and field trips,” she said.

Some of Jacobs’ colleagues feel the same way.

“Mrs. Jacobs is a very innovative and creative teacher,” Mr. Kareem Beckett, Science Department Chair said.

“I love that not only does she keep kids interested in the classroom, but she also take[s] her classes on trips to give them hands-on experience with physics in the real world. I can really see how the students are benefiting from her teaching,” he said.

Mrs. Lucia Jacobs is a new science teacher at Keenan.  Teaching is in Jacobs’ blood.  She has been instrumental in starting a recycling program at school this year.  Photo by Karina Memminger-Rogers, Staff Photographer.

Sophomore Logan Corliss says he loves Jacobs’ class.

“Mrs. Jacobs is a great teacher, and I really enjoy her class. She challenges us, but also breaks her lesson down to where we can understand it,” he said.

The school year has been a good one for Jacobs, and she foresees a continuation of that into May.

“I am looking forward to a great year at Keenan,” Jacobs said.

